Court Garb

Is it possible to only work on one project at a time? While I’m still working on a few other outfits, I’ve decided to start work on something fancy, too.  My plan is centered around the leather doublet shown below. I’ve always liked the unusual collar design (rather than your standard standing collar).

16th Century Padded Leather Jerkin. from http://www.kostym.cz

I’ll be following the basic design of this doublet, with modifications to the design of the embroidery, in a deep green cotton velveteen with gold(tone) embroidery. To go with this I’ll be making a matching split-front petticoat in the same green and gold. I’m hoping I have enough of my shot-silk brocade for a forepart and sleeves. I’d also like to do a partlet with gold lace and an attached ruff.

Here is a look at the fabric:

Fabric

Fabric

Categories: Sewing | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

