Lampas – Loom Setup Trials

Since I’m having a hard time visualizing my proposed setup, I am doing a small test swatch to confirm my understanding before starting the real project.

So, I’ve threaded 40 ends of cotton at 40 epi for a 1 inch band.  I’m using 40 epi rather than the 48 for tencel, since tencel should be set tighter than cotton.

The loom uses shafts 1 and 2 for the binding warp, and 3 and 4 for the ground.  It will be threaded in a repeat of 3,4,3,2,4,3,4,1.

It will be treadled in the following repeat:

  • B1: 2 up, 1 down, 3+4 centre
  • G1: 1, 2, 3 down, 4 up
  • B2: 1 up, 2 down, 3+4 centre
  • G2: 1, 2, 4 down, 3 up.

I tested my theory using the color coded threads they used in Pattern and Loom. Red for the ground warp, black for the binding. White for the ground weft, blue for the pattern.

It worked as intended.  The background separated into a doubleweave while the pattern weave merged into one fabric (you can see black stripes going over the white threads on the back, look at the top center of the bottom photo).

Lampas_Front

Lampas test front

Lampas_Back

Lampas test back

So now all I need to do is draft out my pattern more clearly, and wait for my 12 dent reed to arrive before I can actually start my project.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

